Sonder – Into

Is “sonder” even a real English word? As defined by The Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows, sonder is “the realization that each random passerby is living a life as vivid and complex as your own.”

The group is comprised of producers Dpat & Atu and vocalist Brent Faiyaz. In 2017 they released their Into EP. I first stumbled upon their music video for “Too Fast” on Youtube. It was the music video that drew me in; mostly because of the kid and the giant wound in his chest other than the video being cinematic. Not only that the chorus was catchy to me. The production builds around Brent’s melancholy voice―soft strings, vocal samples, elegant snaps and striking drums.

I then heard it played over the teaser promo for season 2 of “Atlanta”. So I figured I should check out their music. The cover art grabbed my attention. On the album, in the end of “Too Fast” it transitions into “Baldwin Park”. The live drums and floating vocals dancing in the background would get you in a trance. This is an EP you should definitely listen if you’re into R&B. This trio is one you should look out for. Hopefully this is not their first and last project.

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started